Narrabri West Public School

Opportunities and challenges for our children

Telephone02 6792 2377

Early years learning framework and national quality framework

Overview of the Early Years Learning Framework and National Quality Framework

Early years learning framework

The framework describes childhood as a time of Belonging, Being and Becoming.

The framework has been developed to ensure your child receives a quality educational program, this is vital for them to learn and develop. The Framework's vision is for all children to experience play-based learning that is engaging and builds success for life. It is a guide for early childhood educators, they will use the framework in partnership with families, to develop learning programs responsive to children's ideas, interests, strengths and abilities, and recognise that children learn through their play.

The framework is made up of:


  • Secure, respectful and reciprocal relationships
  • Partnerships with families
  • High expectations and equity
  • Respect for diversity
  • Ongoing learning and reflective practice


  • Holistic approaches
  • Responsiveness to children
  • Learning thrgough play
  • Intentional teaching
  • Learning environments
  • Cultural competence
  • Continuity of learning and transitions
  • Assessment for learning

Learning outcomes

  • children have a srong sense of identity
  • children are connecte with and contributie to their world
  • children have a strong sense of wellbeing
  • children are confident and involved learners
  • children are effectie communictors

National quality framework

The National Quality Framework will put in place compulsory, national quality standards to ensure high quality and consistent early childhood education across Australia. The new National Quality Framework consists of:

  • The National Quality Standard - 7 quality areas
    • QA1 - Educational program and practice
    • QA2 - Children's health and wellbeing
    • QA3 - Physical environment
    • QA4 - Staffing arrangements
    • QA5 - Relationships with children
    • QA6 - Collaborative partnerships with families and communities
    • QA7 - Leadership and service management



  • A new rating system
  • A new streamlined regulatory system which is nationally consistent.

For more information visit the National Quality Framework.